This store requires javascript to be enabled for some features to work correctly.



U.S. Girls - Heavy Light. LP (Indie Exclusive Lavender & White Splatter Vinyl)

  • $45.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Selling Fast  - 1 left

The highly anticipated seventh album by U.S. Girls, the protean musical enterprise of multi-disciplinary artist Meg Remy.


While Remy has been widely acclaimed for a panoply of closely observed character studies, on Heavy Light she turns inward, recounting personal narratives to create a deeply introspective about-face.  The songs are an inquest into the melancholy flavour of hindsight, both personal and cultural.  Remy makes this notion formally explicit with the inclusion of three re-worked, previously released songs: ‘Statehouse (It’s A Man’s World)’, ‘Red Ford Radio’, and ‘Overtime’, the latter of which is released as Heavy Light’s lead single.


Heavy Light is produced by Remy and was recorded live with 20 session musicians - including E Street Band saxophonist Jake Clemons - in Montreal’s acclaimed Hotel 2 Tango studio.  Remy worked with co-writers Basia Bulat and Rich Morel to develop the core of Heavy Light, a set of songs conceived as a balance between orchestral percussion (as richly arranged by percussionist Ed Squires) and the human voice (conducted by Kritty Uranowski).  The resulting album finds Remy casting herself as lead voice among a harmonious multitude, the singers of which lend not only their voices, but also share reflections on childhood experiences that are collaged into moving spoken word interludes throughout the album.  The album is mixed by long-time collaborators Maximilian ‘Twig’ Turnbull, Steve Chahley and Tony Price.



1. 4 American Dollars

2. Overtime

3. IOU

4. Advice To Teenage Self

5. State House (It’s A Man’s World)

6. Born To Lose

7. And Yet It Moves / Y Se Mueve

8. The Most Hurtful Thing

9. Denise, Don’t Wait

10. Woodstock ‘99

11. The Color Of Your Childhood Bedroom

12. The Quiver To The Bomb

13. Red Ford Radio

Enjoy Free Shipping Australia-wide on orders over $150 and
Free Express Shipping Australia-wide on purchases over $300.

See our full shipping policy

Before purchasing, feel free to read our full returns & refund policy here.