• Makaya McCraven - Universal Beings E&F Sides. LP
  • Makaya McCraven - Universal Beings E&F Sides. LP
  • Makaya McCraven - Universal Beings E&F Sides. LP

Makaya McCraven - Universal Beings E&F Sides. LP

  • $49.95
  • - 0%

Makaya McCraven - Universal Beings E&F Sides. LP

140-gram Classic Black vinyl LP (pressed by Pallas in Germany) inside a heavyweight matte jacket (artwork by Damon Locks), with insert sheet and dome, patterned inner-sleeve. 

An addendum to Makaya McCraven's critically-acclaimed 2018 release Universal Beings, which The New York Times said "affirms the drummer and beatsmith's position as a major figure in creative music," Universal Beings E&F Sides presents fourteen new pieces of organic beat music cut from the original sessions, prepared and produced by Makaya as a soundtrack to the Universal Beings documentary film.

Directed by Mark Pallman, the Universal Beings documentary follows Makaya to Los Angeles, Chicago, London and New York City for a "behind the scenes" look into the making of the artists breakthrough album, taking the viewer through the story of Makaya's life, his process and the community of musicians that helped bring this project to life. The Universal Beings documentary and Universal Beings E&F Sides album release July 31st 2020.


Named one of the best albums of 2018 by The New York Times, Rolling Stone, NPR, Stereogum, Billboard, SPIN, The Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, and more, Universal Beings was recorded at four sessions in New York, Chicago, London and Los Angeles, and features some of the best "new" jazz players from those hotbed cities: Brandee Younger, Tomeka Reid, Dezron Douglas, Joel Ross, Shabaka Hutchings, Junius Paul, Nubya Garcia, Daniel Casimir, Ashley Henry, Josh Johnson, Jeff Parker, Anna Butters, Carlos Niño and Miguel-Atwood Ferguson - all of whom feature on Universal Beings E&F Sides. 


  • Recorded & Mixed by Dave Vettraino & David Allen.
  • Mastered by David Allen.
  • Cover Art by Damon Locks.
  • Portrait by Sean Owens.
  • Design by Craig Hansen.


Produced by Makaya McCraven.

Executive Production by Scott McNiece.