This store requires javascript to be enabled for some features to work correctly.



Makaya McCraven - Deciphering The Message. LP [USA IMPORT]

  • $59.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Makaya McCraven - Deciphering The Message. LP [USA IMPORT]


With his new remix album, Deciphering The Message, the Chicago-based drummer, producer, and beat scientist Makaya McCraven puts a modern bounce on Blue Note classics by Art Blakey, Horace Silver, and Hank Mobley, among others. 


McCraven hopes the album is both educational and an outright good listen. “I always want to make music that will connect with people in one way, where it makes them nod or feel something or transport them somewhere,” he says. “I also hope this makes them check out the source of this music. The music that we’re making now is part of the same route and is connected, so I want to honor tradition and release something that people can vibe to.”


Across numerous albums and mixtapes, McCraven has proven his mastery of the loop akin to hip-hop’s most celebrated beatmakers like Madlib and J Dilla, both of whom also found inspiration in the Blue Note catalog. With acclaimed releases like In The Moment (2015) and Universal Beings (2018), McCraven created his own lane in jazz by sampling his band playing improvised sessions throughout the world, then molding the audio several times to pull contrasting moods from it. For his previous project McCraven remixed Gil Scott-Heron’s final album I’m New Here into the equally emotive LP We’re New Again (2020). McCraven’s unique approach also incorporates newly recorded elements including his own drums, Joel Ross’ vibraphone, Jeff Parker’s guitar, Marquis Hill’s trumpet & more.



1. A Slice Of The Top (AKA “Sliced Off The Top”)

[from A Slice Of The Top by Hank Mobley]

2. Sunset (AKA “Son Set”)

[from Whistle Stop by Kenny Dorham]

3. When Your Lover Has Gone (AKA “When You’ve Left Your Lover”)

[from A Night In Tunisia by Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers]

4. Ecaroh (AKA “Revlis”)

[from Horace Silver Trio by Horace Silver]

5. Tranquillity (AKA “Corner Of The World”)

[from Components by Bobby Hutcherson]

6. Wail Bait (AKA “Wait Bail”)

[from The Memorial Album by Clifford Brown]

7. Coppin’ The Haven (AKA “At The Haven Coppin’”)

[from One Flight Up by Dexter Gordon]

8. Frank’s Tune (AKA “De’Jeff’s Tune”)

[from Easterly Winds by Jack Wilson]

9. Autumn In New York (AKA “Spring In Chicago”)

[from Blue Lights, Vol.1 by Kenny Burrell]

10. Monaco (AKA “Monte Negro”)

[from ‘Round About Midnight At The Cafe Bohemia by Kenny Dorham]

11. Mr. Jin (AKA “Mr. Gin”)

[from Indestructible by Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers]

12. C.F.D. (AKA “D.F.C.”)

[from Something Personal by Jack Wilson]

13. Black Rhythm Happening

[from Black Rhythm Happening by Eddie Gale]

Enjoy Free Shipping Australia-wide on orders over $150 and
Free Express Shipping Australia-wide on purchases over $300.

See our full shipping policy

Before purchasing, feel free to read our full returns & refund policy here.