This store requires javascript to be enabled for some features to work correctly.



Daniel Villarreal - Lados B. LP [Ltd. Ed. Cigar Smoke Vinyl]

  • $63.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Selling Fast  - 1 left

Daniel Villarreal - Lados B. LP [Ltd. Ed. Cigar Smoke Vinyl] 

On October 15th and 16th, 2020, drummer Daniel Villarreal was joined by guitarist Jeff Parker and bassist Anna Butterss for two afternoons of recording in the backyard of Chicali Outpost in Los Angeles. For all three musicians, it was the first ensemble recording session they’d done in-person since the pandemic locked the world down just seven months prior. Some choice moments from these sessions made it onto Villarreal’s critically-acclaimed 2022 album Panamá 77, but most of the music remained unreleased.

Lados B is a deep dive into the high-level spontaneous music made by Villarreal, Parker, and Butterss across those two days in 2020. Villarreal is heard leading the group through various rhythmic modes and structures for improvisation – flow as informed by the Latin funk of Fania Records as it is by the otherworldly humanity trance of Brain Records – while Parker and Butterss draw on their extensive experience playing free together (as heard on Parker's recently-released Mondays at the Enfield Tennis Academy, and the LA side of Makaya McCraven's 2018 LP Universal Beings) to build harmonic buoys for their spontaneous melodicism. The result is a beautifully vivid illustration of context, creativity, and collective composition from a particularly rich moment in history.

SIDE A    
1. Traveling With 
2. Sunset Cliffs  
3. Republic 
4. Chicali Outpost 
5. Bring It 

6. Salute 
7. Daytime Nighttime 
8. Things Can Be Calm 
9. Rug Motif 

Enjoy Free Shipping Australia-wide on orders over $150 and
Free Express Shipping Australia-wide on purchases over $300.

See our full shipping policy

Before purchasing, feel free to read our full returns & refund policy here.