This store requires javascript to be enabled for some features to work correctly.



Bonobo - Dial M For Monkey. 2LP [Lmt. Ed. 20th Anniversary Reissue on Clear Vinyl]

  • $89.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Selling Fast  - 2 left

Bonobo - Dial M For Monkey. 2LP [Lmt. Ed. 20th Anniversary Reissue on Clear Vinyl]

20th Anniversary Limited Reissue of Bonobo's acclaimed second studio album. Pressed on 140g crystal clear 2LP in printed card inners, housed in a 12” sleeve with rotating view mechanism with all new anniversary artwork.

'Dial M For Monkey' saw Bonobo return with nine perfectly formed tracks on a perfectly formed album. No huge, bloated, over-conceptualised rottage for the monkey man. He gets in, does what he has to do, gets out.

From the opener, "Noctuary," with it’s creepy stoned-Hammer feel, through the headnod sitar-funk of "Flutter," on into the Rhodes-meets-Gamelan of "D Song," the first third of the record sets out the tone for what is to follow – all beautfiully melodic and perfectly assembled but with enough of a creeping undertow to stop the music becoming empty or saccharine. "Change Down" is all double bass folk and cut-up drums, "Wayward Bob" is a devilish waltz, while single "Pick Up" is a straight funk ‘n’ flute throw down. "Something For Windy"sounds like a dub of a postman on his rounds, "Nothing Owed" is epic pastoralia, while "Light Pattern" rounds things off with what sounds like the theme to the best TV programme never made.

With all instruments played, sampled and sequenced by Green’s own fair hand, there is a consistency here, both within the tunes and across the record that crate diggers can only dream of. There is real development, the building of moods and feelings, a genuine attempt to make great music which is incidentally computer music. He may make a monkey of himself, but he’s no musical mug…

Track Listing 

1. Noctuary 05:22
2. Flutter 04:44
3. D Song 05:19

1. Change Down 04:33
2. Wayward Bob 04:39
3. Pick Up 04:08

1. Something For Windy 01:11
2. Nothing Owed 06:16
3. Light Pattern 05:12

1. Pick Up [Four Tet Remix]
2. Behind The Light


Enjoy Free Shipping Australia-wide on orders over $150 and
Free Express Shipping Australia-wide on purchases over $300.

See our full shipping policy

Before purchasing, feel free to read our full returns & refund policy here.