This store requires javascript to be enabled for some features to work correctly.



Animal Collective - Isn't It Now?. 2LP

  • $65.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Selling Fast  - 1 left

Animal Collective - Isn't It Now?. 2LP 

After nearly a quarter-century as one of its generation’s most daring and defining bands, Animal Collective remains committed to the beginner’s mind. The bands structure has long been that of a playground, an open space for exercising and indulging new notions and influences, for saying “Why not?” from way up on the high beams. Maybe that means allowing Panda Bear to focus on his drumming more or encouraging Deakin to dig more deeply into his piano playing. Or perhaps it is giving Avey Tare and Geologist’s burgeoning interest in Renaissance music—plainchant, the hurdy-gurdy, gilded polyphony—space to bloom. Those impulses are at the very core of Isn’t It Now?, the second Animal Collective album in as many years and a striking landmark on their joyously circuitous journey. 

Distinguishing itself from Animal Collective’s expansive catalog, Isn’t It Now? is the first Animal Collective album since Centipede Hz (2012) that was recorded with all four members in the same room at the same time. To bring it all together, the band enlisted multi Grammy winning producer Russell Elevado (D’Angelo, Al Green, Alicia Keys, The Dandy Warhols) to co-produce alongside the band.
Across its 9 tracks, Isn’t It Now? has something for everyone from the catchy bassline on the highly-repeatable single ‘Gem & I’ to the heady 22min centrepiece ‘Defeat’, which has already become a fan favourite from being played out on recent tours.

Co-produced, mixed and recorded with the Grammy-winning producer Russell Elevado (D’Angelo, The Roots, Kamasi Washington), Isn’t It Now? absolutely lands as a classic, its mix of playfulness and earnestness, glittery pop and tessellated textures seeming to synthesize and update all that has ever made and still makes this band so compelling. It is experienced and wise, energized and young, the work of four people committed to finding the frontier of a beginner’s mind, together.

[Download Card Included]

1 Soul Capturer
2 Genie's Open

1 Broke Zodiac
2 Magicians From Baltimore

1 Defeat

1 Gem & I
2 Stride Rite
3 All The Clubs Are Broken
4 King's Walk

Enjoy Free Shipping Australia-wide on orders over $150 and
Free Express Shipping Australia-wide on purchases over $300.

See our full shipping policy

Before purchasing, feel free to read our full returns & refund policy here.