This store requires javascript to be enabled for some features to work correctly.



Big Scary - Daisy. LP [Coral Pink Marble Vinyl]

  • $49.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Selling Fast  - 1 left

Big Scary - Daisy. LP [Coral Pink Marble Vinyl]


After a break of over four years between album releases, Australian duo Big Scary announce fourth LP 'Daisy'. Their most playful collection to date, the tracks are full of drama - a little bit spooky and a little bit silly. It’s ok to LOL when you listen (and do a little boogie), but equally there is a thoughtfulness to be discovered within the themes and arrangements. The pair of Joanna Syme and Tom Iansek reflect broadly on superficiality, naivety and fantasy, compared with the complexities of reality, and the ongoing exercise in thoughtful living. Dynamic relationships are explored, between lovers old and new; and with the voice in your head.


Since releasing their last album 'Animal' in 2016 the pair have dived into broader creative projects. Tom has released three albums across solo project #1 Dads and duo No Mono, and produced or engineered releases for Maple Glider, Tom Snowdon, The Paper Kites, Airling and Bec Sykes. Jo created a second label imprint Hotel Motel Records (the first being Pieater, run with Tom Iansek and manager Tom Fraser); releasing four LPs, eight EPs and many singles; and toured Australia and Canada with the likes of Quivers and Cool Sounds, as well as working the Pieater releases.


These years between working together gave rise to reflections upon pairing up again: what is Big Scary? The answer is it is the music made by Tom and Jo - so that’s what they embraced. Though in the past the band always wrote together, most songs and albums would be finished by Tom in the editor’s chair - arrangements, lyrics, and production. 'Daisy' sees a more equal input from both band members, including tracking (Tom taught Jo how to engineer sessions on ProTools), singing (equal lead from both), and album art (a drawing by Jo, coloured by Tom). Taking it further, a hands-on approach was taken throughout the process - for mixing, photoshoots and music videos.


Their first album with no guitars to be heard, 'Daisy' utilises the floating brightness of synths, melodramatic piano and strings, and sparring hand percussion; drawing on indie pop, disco, and a dash of rock eisteddfod.


The daisy - a common plant. Overlooked. Ubiquitous. Unremarkable. But the daisy is remarkable. There is beauty and depth to be found in most things, if we only allow ourselves to respond in that way. Daisy is an invitation to ask questions, to spark curiosity, and indulge in the infinite possibilities of mystery.


This album was made on Wurundjeri Country 



1. Chapter IV:

2. A Breath

3. Wake

4. Love To Love

5. Stay

6. Get Out!

7. Kind Of World

8. Bursting At The Seams

9. One In A Million

Enjoy Free Shipping Australia-wide on orders over $150 and
Free Express Shipping Australia-wide on purchases over $300.

See our full shipping policy

Before purchasing, feel free to read our full returns & refund policy here.